ST. Paul Church Historical
Revitalization and Maintenance, Inc.
ABOUT US
Brief History of ST. Paul United Methodist Church and  ST. Paul Church Historical Revitalization and Maintenance Inc.
 
On December 16, 2000, a non-profit organization (EIN 52-2295124) was formed in the name of “ST. Paul Church Historical Revitalization & Maintenance Inc.”. 
 
The charter of the organization was simply to preserve ST. Paul United Methodist Church and its grounds.   ST. Paul United Methodist Church and its burial grounds were originally deeded to its founders on November 17, 1883.  The church building was purchased from the white Concord United Methodist Church, located in Concord, MD.  It’s believe the building was constructed in the early 1800’s.
 
ST. Paul United Methodist Church was vibrant place of worship for local community through 1960’s. Memberships started to dwindle as family members passed on and or moved from the area.  Due to this, membership decline and the church was closed in early 1980’s and the grounds were about to be abandon.
 
This lead to formation ST. Paul Church Historical Revitalization & Maintenance Inc.  The formation meeting was held at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Melvin & Barbara Cook on December 16, 2000.

Attending meeting was the founding members; 

 Rev. William & Audrey Briggs
 Barbara Cook - First President
 Maurice Stanford
 William H Briggs – First Treasury
 Sadie Johnson
 Virgie Johnson
 Odette Hawkins – First Secretary
 Crawford Johnson